Dr. Zielke receives inaugural Association of Recovery Schools Award

Dr. Sigurd Zielke, a clinical specialist for Fairbanks and Hope Academy, and a host of other recovery school professionals, have been named recipients of a new series of national awards presented recently by the Association of Recovery Schools (ARS). The awards recognize recovery experts for their pioneering spirit, innovation and dedication in cultivating and advancing the dynamic field of prevention, intervention and addiction recovery research.

Zielke received the association’s inaugural Visionary Award for outstanding contributions to youth recovery research through the use of applied sciences. The award specifically recognizes Zielke’s work constructing and field testing clinical tools to assist student recovery. It also honors his contributions as co-founder of the newly-formed Adolescent Addiction, Learning and Recovery Project, a joint venture of Fairbanks, Hope Academy and Indiana Wesleyan University that provides school educators and other practitioners with a web-based information exchange portal.

Zielke has nearly 50 years of experience working with children and adults facing the challenges of substance abuse. He also was among the group of Fairbanks leaders who 10 years ago created Hope Academy, Indiana’s only recovery high school.

“Most research is conducted by universities or research institutions; so I am grateful that Hope Academy and Fairbanks had the vision and allowed me as a practitioner to apply existing research in novel ways and generate data that benefits young people seeking recovery,” Zielke said. “To me, receiving the Association of Recovery Schools’ “visionary” research award, affirms that doing research in and among our students seeking recovery has a vital place in increasing the general knowledge of what helps youth to successfully travel the road to recovery and to attain school success.”

“A true visionary often goes unnoticed because of hisunconventional methods and Dr. Zielke is one of these exceptional trailblazers,” said ARS Board Chair Rachelle Gardner. “His research sets the bar, challenges the status quo and provides clinicians, advocates and other professionals with information that bridges the gap between science and practice. Without a doubt, his work will have a lasting and positive impact on adolescent relapse prevention and how professionals support children and youth in recovery.”

Other national honorees include:
• William White, Lifetime Achievement Award, emeritus senior research consultant at Chestnut Health Systems
• Nora D. Volkow, M.D., Director of the Year, director of the National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)
• John F. Kelly, Ph.D.,  Recovery Researcher of the Year, associate professor of Psychiatry in Addiction Medicine at Harvard Medical School
• Paul Moberg, Ph.D., Spectrum Award, director for Evaluation Research at the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute
• Andy Finch, Ph.D., Recovery School Award, Assistant Professor of the Practice of Human & Organizational Development at Vanderbilt University
• Andrew Burki, MSW, Recovery Philanthropist of the Year, founder and CEO of Life of Purposes Treatment Center